Hockey: Uttam Singh to steer 18-member junior Indian workforce at Sultan of Johor Cup


Hockey India on Saturday named the 18-member Indian Junior Men’s Hockey Team for the upcoming Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia which is scheduled to start on October 22 in Johor Bahru. The Indian workforce, that ended their marketing campaign with a silver medal in 2019 version after a closely-fought match towards Great Britain, will tackle Australia, Japan, South Africa, hosts Malaysia and defending champions Great Britain on this 12 months’s version which is being held after a two-year hiatus as a result of pandemic.

The India workforce can be captained by Uttam Singh, who featured in India’s Junior World Cup marketing campaign at house in 2021, and debuted for the senior facet on the Asia Cup 2022 held in Jakarta earlier this 12 months. Boby Singh Dhami has been named the vice-captain of the workforce.

Goalkeepers Mohith HS and Ankit Malik have been chosen within the workforce together with defenders Amir Ali, Shardanand Tiwari, Rohit, Amandeep Lakra, Cyril Lugun. Midfielders chosen for this prestigious event are Vishnukant Singh, Rajinder Singh, Ankit Pal, Poovanna CB, Amandeep and Johnson Purthy.

In the forwardline, Uttam will lead the cost together with Angad Bir Singh, Araijeet Singh Hundal, Boby Singh Dhami and Sudeep Chirmako.

India will start their marketing campaign towards hosts Malaysia on opening day on October 22 adopted by their sport towards South Africa on October 23.

After a day of relaxation, India will tackle Japan on October 25 adopted by a match towards Australia a day later. They will tackle Great Britain on the twenty eighth whereas the finals can be held on 29 October.

Speaking in regards to the workforce’s preparations, coach CR Kumar mentioned, “We are well-prepared for the tournament. The players have been together in the national coaching camp for a while now and are eager to play. We have a well-balanced team with almost seven players who were part of the 2021 Junior World Cup team and some of them have also had a stint with the senior men’s team.”

“This is an important and very prestigious tournament in the junior hockey calendar and we are quite excited to begin our campaign against hosts Malaysia,” Kumar added.

The squad


Mohith HS
Ankit Malik


Amir Ali
Shardanand Tiwari
Amandeep Lakra
Cyril Lugun


Vishnukant Singh
Rajinder Singh
Ankit Pal
Poovanna CB
Johnson Purthy


Uttam Singh (Captain)
Angad Bir Singh
Araijeet Singh Hundal
Boby Singh Dhami (Vice Captain)
Sudeep Chirmako


October 22: India vs Malaysia – 18:05 hrs IST
October 23: India vs South Africa – 15:35 hrs IST
October 25: India vs Japan – 15:35 hrs IST
October 26: India vs Australia – 13:35 hrs IST
October 28: India vs Great Britain – 13:35 hrs IST


Source link

Comments are closed.