National Indigenous Fashion Awards nominees named

Nominees for this year’s National Indigenous Fashion Awards (NIFA) have been announced.

Launched in 2020, the award recognises First Nations designers from urban, regional and some of the farthest-reaching remote areas of Australia. The event provides a platform for innovation, diversity and ethical practices for First Nations designers in fashion and textile.

The event is supported by The Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation’s (DAAFF) Indigenous Fashion Projects (IFP) along with the Northern Territory Government (NTG).

DAAFF artistic director and Eastern Arrernte visual artist, Shilo McNamee, said NIFA provides a “unique opportunity” for the home-grown and international fashion community to connect to the world’s oldest living cultures.

“The NIFA recognises excellence across multiple award categories and provides opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander creatives to gain attention and receive mentoring support, so they can not only build capacity but thrive in the industry,” said McNamee.

The award winner will also receive a 12-month mentorship with Country Road giving them access to in-depth insights into the brand’s business operations.

The final night of the photoshoot party, Linda Puna from Mimili Maku Arts collaboration with Unreal Fur. Image: Meg Hansen.

Fabia Pryor, brand community and impact manager at Country Road, said the program is “tailored” by the winner and will include areas in product development, quality control, legal, marketing and sustainability.

Winners will be announced during a ceremony on August 3 in Larrakia Country. A ‘Country to Couture’ runway will also take place on August 2 followed by the Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair from August 5-7.

The following are the award categories and their nominees:

  • Traditional Adornment Award
  • Cassie Leatham, Yanggurdi – Wild Blak Arts
  • Esther Yarllarlla
  • Community Collaboration Award
  • Mimili Maku Arts, Linda Puna x Unreal Fur
  • Djunngaal, Yarrabah Arts and Cultural Centre x Francoise Lane
  • Business Achievement Award
  • Simone Arnol and Bernard Singleton (collaboration) – Prohibit
  • Laura Thompson – Clothing The Gaps
  • Denni Francisco – Ngali x Warmum Art
  • Nagula Jarndu
  • Bábbarra Designs
  • Textile Design Award
  • Philomena Yeatman – Yarrabah Arts & Cultural Precinct
  • Briana Enoch – Jirawee
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten – Ngarru Miimi
  • Eunice Napanangka Jack – Ikuntji Artists
  • Mavis Marks – Ikuntji Artists
  • Roseranna Larry – Ikuntji Artists
  • Wearable Art Award
  • Irene Robinson
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten – Ngarru Miimi
  • Paul McCann
  • Mylene Holroyd
  • Fashion Designer Award
  • Cheryl Creed – Murrii Quu Couture
  • Briana Enoch – Jirawee
  • Denni Francisco – Ngali x Warmun Art Centre

Source link

Comments are closed.